top of page

Toblerone Cookies


Yes that's right...TOBLERONE! These are thick bakery style cookies that have crispy edges and chewy centers with chunks of Toblerone throughout.

I was so happy that this week was over come Friday. It has been an extremely hectic week at work. I was dreaming of a relaxing weekend with no plans whatsoever. Guess I will have to keep dreaming! On Friday our dogs came down with a virus - First time in 4 years. We had a late night costly trip to the vet and then on Saturday Cole came down with a really bad cold. He is the king of the 'man cold'. If you have never experienced a man cold consider yourself lucky. I'm not sure what is worse...dealing with the sniffling I am dying whispers or managing our sick pups lol. I have quarantined them in the living room and myself in the kitchen...I don't need any of whatever they have! I'm happy to be in my own little baking world over here.

Today I made one of our family cookie staples. We have a cookie jar in our kitchen that always has something in it. Cole is a plain chocolate chip cookie kind of guy so that is usually what I make. These Toblerone cookies came about one day last year when he asked for cookies and we did not have any chocolate chips. I found some Toblerone bars that we got for Christmas stored in our pantry. They must have been hiding behind something. I don't know how they weren't eaten. The cookies came out delicious!

Now when I see Toblerone bars on sale (usually after a holiday) I pick a couple up for these. There have been a few times where I have pulled out a Toberlone bar only to feel that it is quite light and find that the other end has been opened, half the bar eaten, and the package be put down closed end facing up. This has led to quite a few disgruntled text message accompanied by photographic evidence of the wrong doing. I still have this one on my phone...I'm sure that the message that went along with it was "WTF??"

This recipe is an adaptation of The World's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies. I have made a few changes that I think make them perfect. The original recipe made a lot of cookies too so I always half the recipe. Half of a recipe gives me 12-14 cookies. Please feel free to double the recipe below.

A few notes:

1) You will notice that the recipe calls for half of an egg. I have always just beaten one egg and only added approximately half. I've been doing this for over a year. I have never tried just putting the whole egg in - I'm not sure why. Next time I will try it with a whole egg and update the post.

2) I use 1.5 bars (150g total) of Toblerone. I think that you can get away with 1 but the extra half really takes them over the top...and let's be honest you are certainly going to eat one or two of those delicious triangles in the process.

3) I have used Best Brown Sugar and Light Brown Sugar - Both work just one cookie will be lighter and the darker sugar makes for more of a butterscotch flavour. I just use whatever I have.

4) I have never made this recipe without a mixer so I am not sure how easy the dough would come together by hand.

Pinterest

Ingredients:

1/2 cup Butter

1/3 cup + 2 TBSP Brown sugar

1/3 cup White sugar

1/2 Egg beaten

1/2 tsp Vanilla

1 1/4 cup All-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 Toblerone bars 100g each

Directions:

For the butter make sure that it is slightly softened. I usually take mine out of the fridge and microwave for 20 seconds. It should not be melted and a bit firmer than room temperature. Combine butter and both sugars into bowl and beat. Add the egg and vanilla then beat until combined.

In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix this well.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients. The dough might seem crumbly at first. Mix it well and if needed help form the dough with your hands. I usually squeeze the dough a few times with my hands and it is good to go.

Chop up the Toblerone bar. I usually separate the triangles from the bar and then chop each triangle into 3 or 4 chunks max. This is a soft bar and melts really easily. If you chop it too fine or handle it too much you will end up with chocolate cookies.

Add the Toblerone bar to the dough and mix well until.

Place cookies on an ungreased cookie sheet. If there are chucks of Toblerone on the sides by the bottom of the cookie or actually on the bottom move them to the top. If you don't some of the chocolate may burn on the pan - not a huge deal but why waste that yummy flavor. You could also bake them on parchment paper. I just prefer to bake them straight on the pan as I like the golden brown bottoms!

Note - roll, drop the cookies with a spoon, or piece a few chunks of dough together??? Well I will show you the difference below. I guess it comes down to personal preference but I like when cookies have bumpy tops. To achieve this I just grab three hunks of dough and lightly squeeze them together then put them on the pan. They will look chunky. Here is a photo of my pans. Note the bottom left cookie.

Here is an up close comparison of rolled vs pieced together. Again I think it just depends on what look you want.

Bake at 365 for 10-13 minutes. You need to watch them like a hawk after the 10 minute mark. They will be firmer on the edges, soft on the top, and be very very light gold on the top and sides. Once out of the oven, they will continue baking on the sheet and also darken in color. Do not over bake! Trust the cookie!

Cole likes his crunchy so I bake mine for 13 minutes. I prefer them a little less done and if I were to be making these for others I take them out at 11 minutes. I think that for most people 13 minutes will be a bit too long so my cookies in the photos may look a tad darker then what you may want.

If you try these cookies let me know! I'd love to hear what you think!

Enjoy!!

bottom of page