top of page

The MOTHER of all Brownie Recipes


If you are someone who says "oh that dessert was a little too rich" you probably shouldn't read any further. I can honestly say that those words have never left my lips...too rich? too decadent? get some milk or water my friend. Brownies and chocolate desserts are MEANT to be decadent. A little piece should be all you need...we all know that what is a 'want' and 'need' can be open to interpretation though right? I eat salads for lunch everyday JUST so that I can have a decadent treat like this.

I have to confess...My pal, B, texted me at work this week to tell me that her staff loved the Pineapple Carrot Muffins that she made. One person even loved it enough to print out the recipe. I literally squealed with delight at my desk. It made my day. My mom also mentioned that she saw her coworker with a monster cookie in her lunch! She told my mom that she made the cookies for her husband :) You know when people talk about 'filling their bucket'? Well hearing this filled my bucket - not only because someone liked my muffins/cookies... but because someone took the time to make them for someone else and was appreciated for it! I feel that over the years that I have come to really appreciate the importance of small gestures and kindness...there is ALWAYS room for kindness. Thank you for filling my bucket my friends and please tell me about your recipe successes!

Valentine's Day is next weekend and I really struggled with what to post today. I was going to post Red Velvet Cupcakes but I know that maybe not everyone is up for making cupcakes. I get it, our lives are super busy. I'll post those another week. So I decided on brownies. Now let me tell you, I have made A LOT of brownie recipes. Some have icing and some don't...I don't think that I have ever had an iced brownie and thought....this would be a bit better without icing. This frosted brownie recipe is SPECTACULAR and fast to make. Yes I know that people make caramel or cream cheese brownies but these are THE BEST traditional brownies. It's really the only brownie recipe that you will ever need and if you do want to experiment with other flavors this is certainly a great base. Even if you are not confident in the kitchen you can pull this one off with ease. Five minutes of prep and in it goes to the oven.

I encourage you to whip up a batch of these babies for your partner, kids, or coworkers this week! Valentine's Day is about love and showing others that you appreciate them - I don't know what says that more than MAKING something for someone that you love. Maybe even make them with your kids! I saw an old friend post a photo of her sweet daughter baking cookies with her on a Saturday. It made me smile and I wanted to 'like it' x 100. Such a special time to spend together. I used to love when my mom let me bake with her...even if my job was just to lick the beaters haha.

Cole is still up north working so it is just me and the dogs this week. He's a picky guy but loves these brownies and there will be a pan on the counter waiting for him when he gets home in a few days. Sometimes I warm them up and serve them with vanilla bean ice cream for dessert. I originally found the brownie part of this recipe years ago on food.com they are called Intensely Chocolate Cocoa Brownies. The chocolate icing is my own recipe. You can make heart shaped brownies too. See the bottom of this post for more info :)

INGREDIENTS FOR BROWNIES:

1/2 cup Butter

1/2 cup Cocoa

1 cup Sugar

2 Eggs

1 tsp Vanilla

2/3 cup Flour

1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/4 tsp Salt

1/2 cup Chopped Walnuts (optional but makes them even better!!)

INGREDIENTS FOR FROSTING:

3 TBSP Butter

2 TBSP Cocoa

1 1/4 cup Icing Sugar

2 TBSP Milk (warm it up in the microwave for 15-20 seconds)

1 tsp Vanilla

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat your oven to 350F. Line an 8x8 pan with foil (spray with pam) or parchment paper. I prefer foil. Will the brownies stick to the pan if you don't? No, you'll be able to get them out. I use the foil for quick clean up and so that you have handles to lift it out of the pan and put it on the counter so that you can cut straighter lines. You can use a 9x9 too the brownies will just be thinner.

In a small bowl sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir well then set aside. Place butter in a pot and melt it over medium heat on the stove. When melted take the pot off of the stove and stir in the cocoa until smooth. Add the sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Mix until the contents are shiny and smooth. Add the flour mixture to the pot and stir just until combined. Add walnuts now if you are using them.

Pour the mixture into the pan and spread it into the corners if needed.

Place in the oven for 23-27 minutes. Do NOT over bake. You will know that it is done when the sides start to pull away. Also, when you can insert a tooth pick in about one inch away from the corner and it comes out clean.

Wait until brownies are cool to the touch then make the frosting. Heads up - do this next part quickly because the frosting will start to harden. This frosting is originally for a 9x9 pan so there will be some extra but i have tried cutting down the recipe and it was not quite enough....don't even try to tell me that you don't want to lick the bowl..

Melt the butter in a microwave safe bowl. Add the cocoa and mix well then add the icing sugar (it will look clumpy). Warm the milk and slowly add it and the vanilla to the bowl. I like to take a spatula and cream the mixture into the side of the bowl until smooth. It should look like chocolate ganache. If you cannot pour it and it looks like more of a frosting add a touch more milk.

Immediately pour the frosting onto the brownies and spread. If you are putting sprinkles or walnuts on top do it quickly as the frosting will set right away. Let brownies sit until the frosting has set so that it is not a mess when they are cut which usually takes an hour. If you like gooey frosting go ahead and cut right away! I usually cut into 1.5 x 1.5 inch squares. If you want to freeze these brownies I wouldn't put the icing on until you are ready to serve them as it tends to crack. I store these in an air tight container...how long will they last? I'm honestly not sure...they have never made it more than 3 days in our house!

I have also made shaped brownies like for Valentine's Day. I would use a 9x9 pan and when the brownies are cooled place them in a freezer so that the icing is really firm. Then use metal cookie cutters to make the shapes. The kiddos could do this too!

Enjoy!!

bottom of page